Japanese Language

Mission Statement

Through intensive and rigorous language instruction, the Japanese Program at the University of Chicago aims to build in our students a solid foundation for speaking, comprehending, reading and writing the Japanese language, and through learning the language to enhance their understanding of the Japanese people, culture, and society. These practical language skills and deep cultural understanding will empower our students to pursue their professional and academical goals after graduation.

Events

We have the Japanese Language Table every Tuesday from 12:30 to 1:30 at the student lounge in WB

Resources

1. Learning resources

NIHONGO eな http://nihongo-e-na.com/

Kanji alive https://kanjialive.com/

2. Summer Programs

2a. Japan

HIF (Hokkaido International Foundation), Hakodate, Hokkaido http://www.hif.or.jp/en/summer/

KCP International Japanese Language School, Tokyo http://www.kcp.ac.jp/

Yamasa Institute, Okazaki, Aichi https://www.yamasa.org/en/index.html

ICU (International Christian University), Tokyo http://scj.info.icu.ac.jp/

 

Waseda University, Center for Japanese Language, Tokyo https://www.waseda.jp/inst/cjl/en/applicants/s-term/

Sophia University, Tokyo https://www.sophia.ac.jp/eng/admissions/summer/index.html

 

KCJS, Summer Programs (for Classical Japanese), Kyoto http://www.kcjs.jp/summer_programs/index.html

 

CLS (Critical Language Scholarship) Japanese https://clscholarship.org/languages/japanese

 

IUC (Inter-University Center) for Japanese Language Studies, Yokohama, Kanagawa https://web.stanford.edu/dept/IUC/cgi-bin/

 

2b. U.S.A.

Middlebury Language School http://www.middlebury.edu/ls/japanese

Stanford University, Summer Session https://summer.stanford.edu/courses/japanlng-1a-accelerated-first-year-japanese-part-1

 

3. Others

Japan Foundation, Los Angels https://www.jflalc.org/

Japan Foundation, Japan(国際交流基金) https://www.jpf.go.jp/j/index.html

JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) (日本語能力試験) https://www.jlpt.jp/

JNTO (Japanese National Tourism Organization) https://www.jnto.go.jp/

Kinokuniya BookWeb USA http://www.kinokuniya.com/us/index.php/fho001

 

Study Abroad

Official Study Abroad Program of the University of Chicago

1. Kyoto Consortium for the Japanese Studies: direct enrollment http://study-abroad.uchicago.edu/programs/kcjs. At least one year of the Japanese study is required. Please contact Eric Benjaminson ebenjaminson@uchicago.edu for further information.

 

2. The Global Leadership Fellows Program (GLFP) at Waseda University: direct enrollment http://study-abroad.uchicago.edu/programs/tokyo-waseda-university. No knowledge of the Japanese is required. Please contact Eric Benjaminson ebenjaminson@uchicago.edu for further information.

______________________________________________________________

Grants & Scholarships

1. CEAS (The Center for East Asian Studies)

Undergraduate Funding and Prizes https://ceas.uchicago.edu/page/undergraduate-funding-and-prizes

Graduate Grants and Fellowships Administrated by CEAS https://ceas.uchicago.edu/page/grants-and-fellowships

2. Study Abroad

Foreign Language Acquisition Grant (FLAG) for undergraduate students https://study-abroad.uchicago.edu/programs/foreign-language-acquisition-grant-flag

Summer International Travel Grants (SITG) [undergraduate] https://study-abroad.uchicago.edu/sitg

Foreign Language Area Studies (FLAS) Summer and Academic Year Fellowships [graduate] https://grad.uchicago.edu/fellowship/foreign-language-area-studies-flas-summer-and-academic-year-fellowships/

 

3. Critical Language Scholarship Program [undergraduate] https://ccrf.uchicago.edu/opportunity/critical-language-scholarship-program

Critical Language Scholarship program [graduate] https://grad.uchicago.edu/fellowship/critical-language-scholarship/

 

4. Boren scholarship for Critical Language Study [undergraduate] https://ccrf.uchicago.edu/opportunity/boren-scholarship-critical-language-study

 

5. Summer Language Scholarship https://summerlanguages.uchicago.edu/page/summer-language-scholarship

 

6. Fulbright US Students Programs http://ccrf.uchicago.edu/node/2262

 

7. Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship https://ccrf.uchicago.edu/opportunity/benjamin-gilman-international-scholarship

 

Placement & Proficiency Tests

For new undergraduate students:

If you have studied Japanese before, you need to take the Placement test. Please contact Catherine Baumann ccbaumann@uchicago.edu.

For new graduate students: You need to contact Catherine Baumann ccbaumann@uchicago.edu to take the Placement test. After taking the Placement test, you will need to have an oral interview and a writing test so please contact Harumi Lory hlory@uchicago.edu.

______________________________________________________________

New Student Advising

Language Competency https://newstudentadvising.uchicago.edu/language-competency

Placement & AP Test Languages https://newstudentadvising.uchicago.edu/placement-ap-tests#Language%20Placement%C2%A0

The College

Language Competency http://college.uchicago.edu/academics/language-competency

Advanced Language Proficiency https://college.uchicago.edu/academics/advanced-language-proficiency

Office of Language Assessment

College Language Competency Assessment (CLCA) https://languageassessment.uchicago.edu/page/college-language-competency-assessment-clca

Foreign Language Proficiency Certificates Office of Language Assessment https://languageassessment.uchicago.edu/page/foreign-language-proficiency-certificates

Academic Reading Comprehension Assessment Office of Language Assessment http://languageassessment.uchicago.edu/page/academic-reading-comprehension-assessment

University of Chicago Language Center

Placement Tests for Language Study https://languages.uchicago.edu/Students/students_proficiency.php

Contact

If you have any questions, please contact Harumi Lory (hlory@uchicago.edu)